the balcony

After seeing nothing but rain for what feels like the last 4 weeks, summer decided to return on Monday. And I can finally enjoy my balcony!

When I moved in last June, it looked like this…

Pretty bare. Here’s today:

Pretty stuffed :D I honestly didn’t expect the tomatoes to get that big. But I can still sit at the table and enjoy dinner, or move the table and folding chairs aside and lounge on the reclining chairs.

I just recently added the GRUNDTAL shelves to the dividing wall. Best balcony-decision ever!

Aside from lantern and plants I keep some tiny gardening tools and some fertilizer up there. I gotta admit that I forgot what’s in the plastic bag in the bucket… maybe I should check :D

I placed the lower shelf just high enough for the reclining chairs to fit under it.

I also keep a bag of soil, my electric grill and some spare planting pots under it. And there’s a small side table that I can bring out if I need it.

Here’s the other side before…

Not much to call home about. I put two olive trees and a potted lavender and hosta in that corner a year ago. I’ve since added a few flowers…

I often light the hanging lanterns when it gets dark, and since I don’t put the roller shade in my bedroom all the way down, I can lie in bed and see the lights. So pretty! I only wish I could find another spot for the drying racks, but since I dry my laundry on the balcony when the weather allows it it’s pretty convenient to keep them out here.

Here are the tomatoes again. I thought I had killed them, because instead of clipping what my mom told me to clip, I accidentally cut off the main stems… Luckily, and completely unexpected, the tomatoes decided to just grow new ones, so they’re pretty big now and close to having tomatoes!

The carrots, however, really did die when I transplanted them… oh well. For my first-ever attempt at growing vegetables this is pretty good, I think.

And the rose that I was afraid had died also made a comeback!

They’re so pretty! Really small blooms, and the softest peachy-pink color. They look more orange here than they really are.

The agapanthus has also started to bloom.

And the balloon flowers that survived winter, but I didn’t know what colors they would be?

They’re all white! Perfect!

So, I love my balcony! There are a few things I wish it had, like more wall space (there’s just the dividing wall, the rest is window) or more space, period, but I love having an outdoor space to enjoy the sun! I’m just starting to worry where I’m gonna put all the flowers during winter…

5 thoughts on “the balcony

Leave a Reply

