fabrics from the market

Last Saturday my mom visited me. The Stoffmarkt Holland, which is a travelling fabric market, was in Hannover, and we’ve wanted to go for a while but never made it. Last time it was here, in June I think, it was raining all day, and I didn’t want to leave the house. But this time the weather was absolutely beautiful and we finally went (and walked so much that day).

I gotta say though, I was a little disappointed. It was not as big as I thought it would be, and there was so much crap. Really, so much super ugly fabric! I always ask myself who buys this, and also, who would design this?

Luckily though, we found the few nice stands and I spent a little money.

First, the most un-interesting things I bought:

Zippers.

Zippers are usually kinda expensive, but these were on the affordable side, so I bought a few.

Right before we left I found what I had been looking for all day:

Pretty oil cloth fabrics.

I’ll make little make-up bags with these. That’s also what I bought the zippers for. I saw a couple of oil cloth fabrics, but none as cute as these (they’re by GreenGate).

There was one stand with the prettiest winter/ Christmas fabrics you could imagine! Nothing screamed “Christmas” at you, there was nothing sparkly, nothing tacky… I just had to buy this fabric to make Christmas throw pillows!

I mean, so pretty, right? It’s more of a winter- than a Christmas fabric, and that’s what I like about it. I’ll make the pillow covers soon and then have them out starting December 1st (no Christmas decorations before that for me). I put the fabric on my couch, and they go so well together, it’s like they were meant to be!

So, the final things I bought are a couple of fat quarters: pre-cut pieces of fabric, perfect for making quilts.

Ever since I made the patchwork quilts for my cousin’s twin boys, I’ve been wanting to make one for myself. And that’s what I’m gonna do with these fabrics, plus the beige polka-dotted one I used for the twins’ quilts. It’s actually the same as the soft aqua polka-dotted one I bought. All the fabrics are Tilda-fabrics, and I’ve had my eye on them for some time. So I was really happy to find them at the market, for quite less money than they usually are.

Before I can make my quilt, I’ll have to make some bags though. I’m going to a market/fair thing in two weeks and I’m still kinda behind (no surprise there..).

 

4 thoughts on “fabrics from the market

  1. I really like all the fabrics you found at the market, the oilcloths are really pretty in a nice understated way, your winter fabric is perfect and the fat quarters will make an amazing quilt! I’m glad I found your blog.

    • Aww, that’s too bad! I live in Hannover, Germany, and there are a lot of cute little stores that carry GreenGate dishes and fabrics. You can even order them online here. Which is really dangerous for my wallet…

Leave a Reply

