sunday night dinner

When I was in Berlin, I bought the US-editions of Cosmopolitan and Glamour magazine at the train station (that’s where you can buy international magazines in Germany). The price is ridiculous, but they are way better than their respective German editions, so I don’t mind splurging on them from time to time.

I also did this before I left:

and got homesick for the US right away.

Anyways, back to the magazines.

I’ve always liked the recipies in them, and on Sunday I made this:

Feta Shrimp. And they were so good!

Wanna make them, too? Here’s the recipe for 2 servings (the original is for 4 servings, I just halfed everything):

.

Creamy Feta Shrimp Scampi

adapted from Glamour magazine

1/2 tablespoon unsalted butter

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

1 1/2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1/6 cup (I think I used a little more than that) white wine

1/8 teaspoon salt

pinch cayenne pepper (the original calls for red papper flakes, which I didn’t have)

1/2 pound large shrimp

1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese (I used a little more than that)

1/2 tablespoon chopped basil (the original calls for fresh parsley, which I didn’t have)

1/2 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

.

Combine butter and oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. When the butter is melted, add garlic and cook, stirring, for about a minute. Add wine, salt and pepper and simmer until reduced by half, about 2 minutes.

Add shrimp and cook until almost opaque, about 2 minutes. Add feta, basil and lemon juice. Simmer and stir until cheese melts and shrimp is cooked through, about 1 minute.

.

I served this with rice and made some more sauce because I took the leftovers to work the next day and thought it might be too dry. This is really delicious and super quick, and I think baguette and a simple salad would be great with it!

Bon appétit!

One thought on “sunday night dinner

  1. Ahhh there’s not much better than some DD and a stack of mags. And speaking of mags, I would never think to look in Cosmo or Glamour for recipes! I’m clearly missing out…that shrimp looks so so good!

Leave a Reply

