sewing news

It’s really been a while since I’ve sewed something. This is mostly because of the fact that, well… I don’t have a sewing machine! I’ve always used my mom’s, but now that I finally got a job and moved out again, my sewing time has been limited to weekend visits. But when I’m home at my parents’, I usually do other things, like, you know, spend time with them.

Lately though I’ve really been itching to get back to sewing again! I have so many new ideas for new bags and other stuff I want to try.

So the other weekend, before I went to Berlin, I finally brought out the sewing machine again! I had been wanting to work on zippers for a while, and I finally found a way to sew something with a zipper that looks good!

I proudly present:

My new pencil case!

See how I placed the zipper on the short side? I won’t do that again. It’s great if you really only store pens in it, but every time I need my sharpener or eraser, I have to empty it completely. But I’m really happy with it overall and I’ll be sewing some more, to be used as cosmetic bags and such.

And then I sewed a new bag! I had gotten really sick of the ones I used to make, simply because I had made so many of them. So I finally gave a new pattern idea a try:

And I am so happy with it!

Of course it has pleats, just more than I used to make before.

I think pleats are such a nice detail, they add such a special touch!

I’ll make this one again, just a little wider (and thereby bigger). I also didn’t use interfacing with this one, and I won’t in the future, as I didn’t like how stiff the bags became. With the thick IKEA fabrics I’m using it’s really not necessary anyways.

I’ll go home to my parents’ again next weekend, and maybe I’ll find the time to do some more sewing then.

4 thoughts on “sewing news

  1. Die Tasche ist ja echt mal der OberHAMMER! Der Stoff sieht so gut aus … viel besser als auf dem Ballen. Wieder mal ein Beweis dafür, wie unterschiedlich die Stoffe vernäht aussehen können :*.

    Ich bin schon gespannt, was du nächstes Wochenende werkelst ;). Der helle Stoff, ist das Minna oder ist das Ditte?

    • Danke :) Das doofe an dem Stoff ist nur, dass das Muster mittig platziert ist und man viel ohne Muster über hat, aber das hab ich dann als Futter für die Federtasche genommen.
      Der helle Stoff ist MINNA (gut erkannt). Ich hab sonst immer LENDA genommen, aber der verzieht sich beim Waschen so doll und MINNA ist fester und insgesamt einfach schöner. Der ist zwar ein bißchen teurer, aber macht es wieder wett!

  2. Gerne ;). Minna ist toll. Ich hab ja noch ein wenig orange Minna hier, und dann muss ich mir wohl auch mal etwas gebleichten kaufen. Und den anderen Stoff auch … hoffentlich gibt es den noch ;)

  3. Superschön geworden! Der Stoff gefällt mir auch total gut, ich wusste bloß bis jetzt nie, was ich damit machen sollte, da das Muster so groß ist. Tolle Idee! :)

Leave a Reply

