beach bag

I haven’t started with the console table yet, just because it’s been so hot, and when the temperature finally drops a little in the evening it’s too late to start sanding. Today the weather is different, though, the sky is very cloudy and it’s much cooler, so I’ll start working on that project today.

But I haven’t been completely lazy in the meantime (just a little).

I sewed a beach bag!

I used IKEA’s BERIT fabric in beige/yellow and the linen fabric, AINA, that I used before to make placemats.

The pattern I came up with is based on the market tote. I added the linen fabric to the sides (instead of just using one bigger piece of the striped one), and after thinking about a zipper I added a string to close the bag:

The fabric piece that holds the string could be a little wider, so I’ll change that a little with the next bag I make.

I also added pockets to the inside:

I really like that I chose the striped fabric for the pockets! This way they not only look pretty, but they’re easier to find.

You can put your iPod and your sunglasses in the pockets…

.

…and your wallet and gum or your keys…

.

I think the bag is the perfect size for a beach bag! You can easily fit a beach towel, sunscreen, a book and a bottle of water inside.

Too bad I’m not going on a beach vacation!

So, I had bought 2m of the linen fabric. I originally wanted to make some more placemats with it, but after making the bag I only had about 30cm left. So I decided to make a simple and easy table runner.

I’m gonna buy more of the fabric and make another one, plus a few matching placemats. This was a really simple and quick project, and I think it’s really pretty.

3 thoughts on “beach bag

  1. […] beach bag « all things jenny beach bag. 17 Jul. I haven’t started with the console table yet, just because it’s been so hot, and when the temperature finally drops a little in the evening it’s too late to start sanding. Today the weather is different, though, … … Read more from the original source: beach bag « all things jenny […]

    • Thank you :) The tutorial for the market tote is really great! It’s been so much fun to make it and come up with other ideas for it. I have a new hobby now :)

Leave a Reply

