that’s not white chocolate

I’ve been busy over the weekend. I made chocolates.

On Saturday I made Pioneer Woman’s chocolate truffles with sea salt.

I had some chocolate left, so I melted it and made some chocolate-dipped raspberries.

They were good. We ate them all.

I also made chocolate-dipped mini pretzels.

They were really good! You should try that some time. We ate them all.

And then, I made chocolate-dipped pecans.

They were absolutely delicious! I ate them all…

.

But back to the truffles. All I can say is YUM! Don’t be afraid of the salt, it tastes so, so good!

When I was making them I left the kitchen for a minute, and when I came back I saw that my dad had stolen one of the “fillings” I was gonna dip in chocolate. I asked him why he hadn’t eaten one that was done, they were in the fridge.

Dad: Oh, the ones with the white chocolate?

Me: ???

Dad (takes them out of the fridge and shows me): These?

Me: That’s not white chocolate…

I don’t know what happened here! I guess the chocolate might have become too hot, even though I used a double boiler.

Or maybe the chocolate wasn’t right? I bought Lindt chocolate cause it’s the good stuff, but maybe it’s not good for melting and baking?

The bottoms look okay though.

.

And only the first ones came out like this, when I ran out of the Lindt chocolate I added regular baker’s chocolate and they turned out just fine.

And they sure look pretty, don’t you think?

.

I keep them in the fridge, which is dangerous cause they’re right there, in your face, every time you open the fridge…

But it also gives the chocolate coating a nice crunch.

The filling is firm, because of the fridge, but doesn’t have a hard bite to it, it’s still creamy. Absolutely delicious!

.

On Sunday, because I didn’t have time for them on Saturday, I made mocha truffles with Kahlúa.

.

The chocolate coating came out a little too thin, but the inside is awesome!

Creamy and fluffy and just perfect!

.

They look good, too.

I used regular dark baker’s chocolate to coat these, and I like the glossiness.

.

Making these was a lot of work and took a lot of time, with cooling the filling before rolling it into ball-like shapes (I used 2 regular teaspoons to shape them which worked just fine).

They don’t look perfect, but they were made with a lot of love.

For the love of my waistline, I’ll have to give most of them away…

2 thoughts on “that’s not white chocolate

Leave a Reply

