Happy Birthday!

Yesterday was my dad’s birthday.

So we had cake.

A LOT of cake.

My mom and I had asked him what cake he wanted, and he said chocolate and nut-marzipan.

Back in December, when I had my final oral exam and got my Bachelor’s degree, my dad came with me to Mönchengladbach, where I went to university and the examination took place. It’s almost 5 hours away, and I was nervous and hadn’t slept the night before, so it was good he came along. On our way back we stopped at a store in Düsseldorf that sells British and American foods. As I was looking for root beer and grape jelly, my dad found Betty Crocker SuperMoist Devil’s Food cake mix.

After staring at the box and then me, I let him put it in the shopping basket and buy it.

And since we still hadn’t made it, we decided that it would be his chocolate birthday cake.

Unfortunately, the store was not only out of root beer, but also out of frosting. So I went over to Bakerella to find a recipe for chocolate frosting. I found a recipe for dark chocolate cream cheese buttercream frosting that looked awesome, so it was a done deal.

I noticed later, but I accidentially used twice as much butter as the recipe says. And as I was adding the sugar I thought that it looked pretty nice and creamy already, so I let my dad do a taste-test and he said it was perfect. I ended up only using about half of the sugar.

So here’s what I used for the frosting:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature

8 oz. cream cheese, room temperature

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon vanilla

about 1/2 pound powdered sugar

It didn’t even need milk, it was super creamy without it! It was very easy to spread, and the cake looked awesome!

It was soooo good! I think it’s good that we tasted the frosting in between instead of adding all of the powdered sugar. It would have been extremely sweet, and with only half the sugar but twice the butter it was pretty perfect!

But I don’t want you to miss out on all the other cakes we made!

There was the nut-marzipan one with mandarin oranges…

.

My mom made this one. Yum!

.

Butter cake, one of our favorites! I’ll have to get the recipe from my mom and try to make it, as I’ve never made it before…

.

This one is called “cold dog”. Except for the cookies, its main ingredient is fat. It’s delicious!

.

And finally, some vanilla cupcakes. I only made them because there was so much leftover frosting and I wanted to use it. Yum!

.

My mom took some of the leftover cake to work today, but there’s still so much left!

Having cake in the house is a dangerous thing…

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

  1. I found your blog through the Pioneer Woman. You made a comment on one of her cakes about what people in Germany call soda/pop and how they make cakes with Fanta.

    My husband is German and I had to come read your blog. I love this post! When my husband makes a layer cake in a round pan, it looks just like this. I could never figure out why he wasn’t using the 2 layer pans I have. Now I realize that this is how Germans sometimes make cakes.

    I love your pictures and stories. We’re headed to Germany this fall and I can’t wait to have my hubby show me ‘his’ country.

Leave a Reply

