before and after: my bed

I finally have a bed with an upholstered headboard! I’ve always wanted one, but when I was moving out of my furnished dorm room in college and into an apartment with a friend, IKEA had just discontinued the upholstered bed they had back then. So I went with the four-poster (which has just been discontinued a few months ago) since I liked it and thought it would be so awesome to sleep in it.

Well, I was a little disappointed. The four-poster was not what I had imagined and I kinda didn’t really like it. But I only lived in that apartment, and therefore with the bed, for about 6 months, then had to move back in with my parents and stored the bed in their garage until a year ago, when I finally moved into my own apartment here in Hannover. I had other things to do in my apartment first, but now I finally got rid of the posts and “built” an upholstered headboard!

When I had just moved in, the bed still looked like this…

I also didn’t have curtains, or pictures on the walls.

About 2 weeks ago, I finally cut off the posts, which left the bed looking like this:

So. On tuesday I took home some leftover particle board from work. There’s always a lot left that is free for customers to take home. I had it cut to size at work; I needed a big piece, 2 small, thin ones, and one long, thin one.

Here’s a last before picture of the old headboard.

I originally wanted the headboard to be 70cm high, but the scrap boards were only 60cm wide. I didn’t mind, cause 10cm is really not that much. But once I put the big piece in place I was glad about those missing 10cm, since I now think it would have been too big.

I just screwed it into the old headboard on both sides.

Then I attached angle brackets on the two small pieces…

…to attach them to the sides of the big piece and make the sides of the old headboard/posts the same height as the big piece. Makes more sense when you see it:

Using the same technique, I attached the long thin piece on top of it all. You can just about see it here:

And then it was time for what I thought was gonna be the fun part:

Stapling! Instead of batting, I bought a comforter in the as-is section. It’s not a down comforter, and the filling is pretty much the same as batting, but this was a cheaper option.

I started by stapling a long side to the bottom of the headboard.

Since the comforter was wide enough, I folded it over and stapled the other long side to the bottom of the headboard, too.

It was a little complicated, since the fold would fall on me, but I eventually figured out that I had to work in stages of stapling on the bottom and then pulling the fold tight on top and staple there, too.

As you can see, the top part is not smooth. It’s a little bumpy, which I thought wouldn’t be a problem once I covered it with fabric.

Well, it’s still a little bumpy. I don’t have any progress shots of attaching the fabric, but I pretty much did the same thing as I did with the comforter. Maybe I should have pulled tighter on top the get rid of the bumps, but it doesn’t bother me all that much.

So, here’s what my bed looks like now:

And I really, really love it! I’ve slept in it 2 nights now, and I slept so good! You wouldn’t think that a headboard makes any difference in how you sleep, but somehow it does!

Am I done with it, though? Nah. I’ll take the fabric off and wash it, then try dying it with black tea. I’ve seen it somewhere, and I like that it doesn’t really dye the fabric, but rather make it look a little warmer. And then I think I’ll attach another comforter to make it plusher, and instead of stapling the fabric to it again I’ll sew a removable cover that I’ll attach with velcro. That way it’s easy to remove if I want to wash it. Oh, and I think I need some bigger art above the bed, or add to the collage.

But so far, so good! Even though I’m not done yet I’m super happy and in love with my new headboard!

5 Comments

Filed under at home, home improvement

5 responses to “before and after: my bed

  1. I don’t think I’ve seen someone use a comforter to wrap a headboard. I really like it! It definitely gives the bed a cozy look. Oh, and your wall color is perfect!

    • Jenny

      Thank you! I’m actually thinking about changing the wall colors though :D I’d stay with a warm pink behind the bed, but something a little less purple, and instead of the gray I’m considering the soft beige I have in the living room, or maybe a shade or two darker. I feel like the gray is a little too cold, but I’ll wait and really consider this for a while.

  2. I pretty much did the same thing – bought a thick MDF board, primed it and painted it with a glossy dove-grey (light and subtle) and I fixed it onto the wall. The bed frame itself was nothing special, but with the diy headboard and a lush duvet set I managed to give the bedroom a facelift..
    Re. wall colour, try dove grey, which has a hint of purple and does not look ‘too cold’

  3. Your new headboard looks great! I really want to make one for my bed as well but not quite sure how I will make that happen yet…

  4. Looking forward to see the finished style!

Leave a Reply

